Actors and Roles

The Independent Software Vendor (ISV): The ISV adds services to marketplace, thereby increasing market reach and visibility to multiple resellers. The ISV administrator uploads services to the service catalog. These services and their terms and conditions of use have to be approved by the marketplace administrator before the services can be enabled for reselling. The ISV administrator can also create and open a store and resell services from the service catalog.

The Marketplace Administrator: The marketplace administrator manages both the ISV and the reseller’s rights, activities and transactions within the marketplace. The marketplace administrator has the right to proxy into the store and manages the reseller’s service catalog, users and members.
Note: This online help is designed for marketplace administrators. If your role is not a marketplace administrator, some of the features and privileges explained here may not be applicable to you.

The Store/Reseller Administrator: The store administrator manages the reseller’s store within the marketplace and resells the services that are added to the marketplace by the ISV. The ISV can also act as a reseller by creating a store and reselling their own services. Similarly, the reseller can also add services to marketplace which can be resold only by their own stores, or by any and all resellers.

The reseller administrator can log into the marketplace catalog, add resell-enabled services from the resell catalog and make them available to end-customers. The reseller administrator can also administer end-customers account via proxy.

The store administrator logging in to the store assumes the role of a customer administrator.

The Customer Administrator: The customer administrator manages the customer company account on the store and also manages company users, service subscription for users, orders and so on.

End-user: The end-user logs into the enterprise store to launch the service(s) that are assigned to him/her and manage his own account.

Each of the roles in the Marketplace has a specific set of permissions. By default, the system provides a set of predefined roles. In addition to the predefined roles, you can create your own custom roles according to your requirement. You can create roles, and then grant permissions to those roles. Once you define the roles, you can assign appropriate roles to user(s). Use the Roles & Privileges Settings page to administer role based access control for user(s).

Add New Role

To add a new role and assign it to your user, do the following:

  1. On the My Company menu, click Roles & Privileges page. The Roles & Privileges Settings page is displayed.

  2. Click the Add New Role icon. The Add Role page is displayed. You can use the information specified in the table to create new roles.

    Add Roles

    Privileges Descriptions
    Roles Name Type the role name in the Role Name field.
    Description Type the description about the field in the Description field.
    Status Select the Status of the role.
    • If you want to make the role active, select Active. If you want to use the role at a later stage and keep it inactive, then select Inactive.
    • If you want to make the role as the role for new user(s), enable Make it as Default option by marking the check box.

    Choose Permissions

    Privileges Descriptions
    Permissions Select the permissions by marking the check box, the selected permission(s) will automatically move to the list of selected permissions list.
    List of selected Permissions The selected Permission lists contains selected permissions.
  3. Select the permissions you want to assign to the role by marking the check box next to the permission.
  4. Click Save.
    Note: You need to have valid permissions to add roles. Please contact your administrator, if you don’t see this option.

Associate Permissions

To associate permission to the existing role, do the following:

  1. On the My Company menu, and click Roles & Privileges page. The Roles & Privileges Settings page is displayed.
  2. Click the Add Role icon. The Add Role page is displayed.
  3. On the Add Role page, select the permissions you want to associate to the selected role from the Permissions List. The selected permissions appear in the list of selected permissions list.

  4. If you want to remove a permission, click (X) cross next to the permission you want to remove from the List of Selected Permissions list. Click the Remove All link to remove all selected permissions.
  5. Click Save.
    Note: The marketplace has certain set of predefined permissions which cannot be removed.

Assign Roles to Users

To assign roles to user(s), do the following:

  1. On the My Company menu, and click Roles & Privileges page. The Roles & Privileges Settings page is displayed.
  2. Click the Assign icon next to the role you want to assign to users. The Assign Users window is displayed.

  3. In the Assign Users window, select the User Names by marking the check box corresponding to the user, the selected users will appear in the list of selected users.

  4. Click Save.
    Note: If you assign a new role to a user who is already assigned to another role, then the user will be automatically unassigned from the previous role.
    Note: The Assign Users link will not be displayed next to the roles which are in In-active status. If the status of a role is changed from active to in-active, then the users assigned to that role will be assigned to the default role.

Unassign User(s) from the Role

To un-assign user(s) from a role, do the following:

  1. On the My Company menu, and click Roles & Privileges page. The Roles & Privileges Settings page is displayed.

  2. Click the Unassign icon next to the role you want to un-assign from users. The Unassign Users window is displayed.
  3. If you want to remove user(s) from the role, click cross (X) next to the user(s) you want to remove from the list of selected users.
  4. Click Save.
    Note: The Un-assign link will not be displayed next to the roles which are not assigned to any users and the roles which are in In-active status.

Edit Role Details

To edit role details, do the following:

  1. On the My Company menu, and click Roles & Privileges page. The Roles & Privileges Settings page is displayed.
  2. Click the Edit icon next to the role you want to edit.

  3. Edit the role name in the Role Name field.
  4. While editing the role details, you can select the language in which you want to configure the role. From the Configuration in field, select the language.
  5. Edit the description about the field in the Description field.
  6. Change the Status of the role if required.
  7. In the Choose Permissions section, edit the permissions if required. Select the permissions you want to associate to the selected role from the Permissions List. The selected permissions appear in the list of selected permissions list.
  8. If you want to remove a permission, click (X) cross next to permission in the List of Selected Permissions list.
  9. Click Save.
    Note: While editing a role, you can select the language in which you want to configure the role. Suppose you assign a role configured in a particular language to a user, if the user changes the default language later, the user will continue assuming the same roles.